3 Reasons to Dis the Facebook Dislike Button

facebook-dislike-button

[tweetmeme source=”equalman” only_single=false http://socialnomics.net/%5D

The fake Facebook dislike button spread quickly this week [as reported by  PC World]. Facebook may consider a real one soon, but below are 3 reasons why we are better off without a dislike button:

#1 Humans Top Need is Acceptance

If you think the recent privacy concerns have caused many users to shrink back into their protective shells, imagine how many more will increase their privacy settings with a dislike button. According to Maslow’s Hierarchy of needs after the basic needs of survival and security our top need is to feel accepted. This is one reason why social media has exploded; it would be somewhat going against the grain to have a dislike button.

#2 Encourages Bad Energy

One of the beautiful things about Facebook is with over 500 million users it has helped break down the hurdles of distance, culture & time. With applications like Causes there have been many positive things derived from our socially connected world. The implications on cyber bullying could be egregious if a dislike button is launched incorrectly.

#3 Invites Scams

One more item for Facebook to police, distracting them from more important advancements like better search and social commerce functionality. The Internet has shown that people don’t mind going to great lengths to gain an upper hand on competition – this is particular prevalent in Asia.

What do you think?  Do you like the idea of a dislike button on Facebook?

Dislike Image: Courtesy of Topnews.in

Bookmark and Share

21 responses to “3 Reasons to Dis the Facebook Dislike Button

  1. What’s with this positive vibes crap? I’m not gonna have my feelings hurt if someone dislikes something I post. That’s their opinion and I’m mature enough to respect that. If someone is being an asshole about it, you can just as easily delete them or simply ignore it.

  2. From Facebook’s point of view, I think a dislike button is a bad idea. Maybe it’s just me personally, but I like Facebook because it’s a positive social environment. People you normally don’t talk to can tell you ‘Congratulations!’ or ‘like’ a certain picture of you. Although I admit there would be a few good uses for a dislike button, I feel that the general public would use it more for put-downs. People would be less inclined to use facebook if they weren’t getting the positive social reactions given by the current lack of a dislike button.

  3. I would love a dis like button probly because I don’t take social sites too serious…

  4. I think a dislike button can be used for good. A girl just posted on her wall, “spent the morning in the emergency room.” I would like to hit the dislike button…

  5. I think we are better off without the dislike button. As the old saying goes, praise in public but criticize in person.

  6. I would definately hit the dislike button for this post. Does that offend you? Why? People are more than just the things they like and everyone is entitled to their opinions, positive or negative. Keep in mind I’m not saying that I dislike any people. I just do not agree with this opinion, and by just “not posting” this, doesn’t mean you can extrapolate that I (or anyone else) do or does not like this.

    I have an entire page of “likes” listed on Facebook. By your articles logic, anyone should be able to “know” me by reading said list. They would know I like cycling and rollerblading and ultimate frisbee… but would they know I’m ambivelant to bran cereals? Would they know I hate cats? I certainly wouldn’t want someone to buy me Onion & Liver iccream just because Facebook says I like icecream, but doesn’t let me say I dislike that flavour.

    I’m really sorry, but this button is needed on facebook. Read your constitutions people. You DO have the right to free speech, you do NOT have the right to never be offended. People will offend you in life, intentionally and unintentionally, it’s up to the person taking offence to decide if they will let it affect them negatively. Thicken your skin people, just because people can dislike your ideas and opinions doesn’t mean they nessecarily dislike you.

    • Yes, you really do need to read the Constitution. It does not say ANYWHERE that people need to help you express your opinion. Therefore, Facebook is not constitutionally required to have a dislike button.

  7. I would support the creation of a dislike button for Facebook.

    I would also support the creation of buttons for:

    *Stop spamming me with “farm” or other game crap
    *Stop making veiled references to your personal life that just make everyone go Wha?
    *Stop talking about politics when you failed sixth grade civics class
    *I don’t know how to tell you this, but your kids are not that cute.

  8. Erik .. excellent points. I see no redeeming value to a ‘Dislike’ button. Social media energy is positive, focused. If you don’t like something or someone .. then don’t ‘Like’ them. It’s sort of like voting with your money .. the currency of social media is ‘Like’, Add Friend, Follow, Comments, etc.

    Great reference to Maslov, too.

    Thanks, Mike

  9. Grant:

    Love this line on your comment as I believe it is so true for many of us!

    I think it goes against everything that is good about social media.
    I say; NO WAY! to a dislike button even though I would probably use it extensively.

    Appreciate the contribution and TGIF!

    – equalman

  10. I’d have to say I’m for a “Don’t Like” button purely to have both sides represented. Since this would apply to pages/groups and not personal profiles, then this a benefit for all – organization, businesses, etc. – to see the other side of the story and improve their product/service with more immediate response. Isn’t that the beauty of social media?

    So if Ben & Jerry’s creates a FB page for their new “Liver and Onions” ice cream flavor, I want to be able to say “Don’t Like” if I really don’t like it and if the new, supposedly hit movie from Warner Brothers stinks and I just paid $12 to go see it (+ $20 in snacks), well then I certainly want to be able to click that “Don’t Like” button.

    Now if Facebook ever got to the point of adding like/don’t like buttons to personal profiles, I could possibly have an emotional breakdown wondering “Why don’t you like me?!” I guess they would need to add an “No, I DON’T want to be your friend.” option. 😉

    • Bobbi-Jo: You hit the nail on the head with where is the “line” for Facebook, what would and wouldn’t get a don’t like button. That is why it gets complex.

      Also, one could argue you don’t need a “don’t like” button – it’s relative:

      Cherry Garcia: 50,456 likes
      Liver & Onions: 3 likes (probably from someones cat)

      Great debate on both sides of this proverbial coin. Love the Ben & Jerry’s reference!

    • Bobbi-Jo,
      I agree with you on this on too. If I can “like” something, I should be able to “dislike” it as well. But before people go and “dislike” everything they truly do not like, one thing to keep in mind is that people will always react better to positive reinforcement than negative reinforcement. I personally would use a “dislike” button quite rarely, because one’s social media “reputation” is quite important. I do not want to be the “Negative Nancy” or “Bob Bummer” of the group. This is not to say that we should go around hugging people all day, but simply “disliking” something automatically leaves rationale up to the viewer of the dislike, and they will likely assume the worst, often for no reason.
      I might be way off base with this but it’s just something to think about, I guess.

    • If you see people not liking you because they dont like everything about you. then you need a life

      • Curt, you have me LOL! I guess my tongue in cheek humor at an emotional breakdown did not across as so. That’s the bummer of reading text; you miss out on the inflection in a person’s voice as to whether they are being serious, humorous, sarcastic, etc.

        Either way, this post makes me think of a great quotation: “We appreciate frankness from those who like us. Frankness from others is called insolence.” ~ Andre Maurois

        Best,
        Bobbi-Jo

  11. You’ve made some great points and I completely agree, especially with your second point, that the Dislike button encourages bad energy. Antisocial behavior doesn’t need to be encouraged on social networking sites. That’s just going backwards.

    http://www.wisdomlondon.com/

  12. A dislike button will not lead to some giant internet world war breaking out! If I can like something why can’t I dislike something? Some people need to know that I don’t like what they are saying or doing. Currently I’m limited to “ironically” liking something, as I can rarely be bothered to write a comment that will undoubtedly be ignored!

    From a different perspective, a dislike button will allow Facebook to improve the accuracy of their profiling of users. One of the things they seem to be poor at is providing recommendations and relevant advertising. If they improved these aspects, Facebook would be able to increase customer satisfaction and drive greater revenues by providing a value-added service. Although, this will come at the cost of another privacy outrage storm in the media.

    Follow me on twitter: @richardsykes85

    • Richard: Agreed a dislike button would be great on ads (if it’s easy to policy the nefarious actions some companies will employ to dislike competitors). The question is where does the dislike button end? Hopefully Facebook tests appropriately so we don’t case another privacy outrage as you rightly suggest!

      Thanks for the comment.

  13. A Dislike button? Seriously? What are they thinking? The kind of people that created the Fake one are the exact same people that will exploit the presence of one.
    It would also allow those people who have conflicting opinions to take the easy road and instead of justifying their opinion in the form of a comment on your wall, they would just hit the dislike button.
    I think it goes against everything that is good about social media.
    I say; NO WAY! to a dislike button even though I would probably use it extensively.

Leave a Reply

